NYFW: DENNIS BASSO X COACH 1941

They say New York Fashion Week is a huge life-changing, glamorous event. I beg to differ. It’s anything BUT glamorous. Photographers flashing their cameras in your face to get the perfect ‘runway shot’. Designers panicking because they think everything is going to end in disaster, an embarrassing yet quite glorious nip slip, model falls and breaks a leg, everything you can imagine and in the fashion section of the New York Times, it will read ‘utter bore’ in a bold, unflattering font. it’s all a bunch of bullshit if you ask me. But, I’m just here to write about the fashion.

Speaking of fashion. I spied with my little eye two collections that gave me all the feels in the fashion world. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love them. well actually I just did…so there’s that! But what I really love about them is that they are super versatile and sets the bar extremely high when it comes to runway. Dennis Basso’s RTW Fall 2017  collection is edgy, and more high fashion while the Coach 1941 Fall 2017 RTW collection is more vintage-y and all about the checkered patterns, and layering on a mixture of light n dark browns. Basso used ivory fishnet turtlenecks, high slits and faux fur accessories to accommodate each outfit.

It almost has a titanic-y vibe to it, Rose Dawson (Rose Dewitt Bukater) and her mother Ruth in the movie wore such elegant and extravagant high-end pieces including the faux fur shawl, warm wool coats, ornate dresses, silk and lace,  Victorian-es inspired skirts. A mixture of glam, sophistication, but tame. The richness of the colors and the fabrics intertwined and was almost too beautiful, quite like both collections here. They’re beautiful, until they are too beautiful to the eyes. It’s a special quality to have within a collection. Coach definitely exceeds my expectations, I got my first coach bag last year as a 21st birthday gift that my mother had bought me. I am a coach bag newbie! YAY! But, anyways I really loved the coach collection because it takes me back to the 90’s where everything was about floral prints and patterns. It gave me some serious old-western Indiana Jones vibes too with the pink n purple-y sunset used as the background n the brown bushes for the runway.  Pretty cool shit, if you ask me.

Thank you Coach and Dennis Basso for making me believe in your collections n also killing the ‘runway game’!

till next time….

Below are photos of Coach + Dennis Basso’s NYFW collections n some from the old collections as well! please do me a favor n comment below on some of your favorite NYFW collections, and what you love about these too!

DENNIS BASSO RTW FALL 2017 COLLECTION (ALL IMAGES ARE FROM TUMBLR, I DO NOT OWN THEM!!)

FAUX FUR x CHOKERS

SLEEVE DETAILS

MEAN MUGGIN

PHOTO CREDIT // @PRETTYHAPPYGIRLS ON TUMBLR

COACH 1941 2017 RTW COLLECTION

PHOTO CREDIT // @KOREANMODEL ON TUMBLR

PHOTO CREDIT // @THERAFSIMONSWOMAN ON TUMBLR

Leave a Reply

