An important cause and my personal experience

I stumbled upon a  PSA last week  called #ItsOnUs regarding the issue of CONSENT and this is a really important cause especially for young women who attend college, so I wanted to take some time to talk about it as well as my own personal experience. Let me just tell you all….Iv’e never told anyone about this except for my boyfriend  (which was recent) and ex-best friend.  I had an experience in the past, although there was no “sexual contact”, there was physical contact. An older man who was a security “guard” for my ex best friend’s building had hit on me a couple of times when I came to her building. But there were a few times he took it too far. He approached me in the elevator and grabbed me by the face and kissed me. Even though I told him I didn’t want him doing that to me, he still kept doing it. There was one moment where he followed me up the stairs because I was trying to get away from him. He followed me, but did not approach me and then went back downstairs. And yes this was assault contrary to what people may think. He forced me to kiss him and I felt so weak, so afraid of what he might have done next. But every time I pass that same building and see him I get chills all over my body. could he have easily raped me right then and there? Yes. Did I allow him to constantly be inappropriate with me? No, because I tried to get away or tell him that I didn’t want him to do it but that was no use, he didn’t listen to me, he just kept going. Just because I was not raped, doesn’t mean I was not assaulted. It is assault when a man forces you to do something you don’t want to do or touches you inappropriately, or makes you feel uncomfortable, which is what he did to me.  

A woman should never have to endure that and go through something so terrifying. The PSA is filled with celebrities such as Zoe Saldana, Nina Dobrev, Josh Hutcherson, Minka Kelly and many more. It has made me realize that if I come forward and share my experience with you then this could help many other young girls who are too scared to do the same. On college campuses or off campus, these incidents happen all the time unfortunately and the thing is nobody has done anything to stop it from happening. I attend St John’s University where incidents like these are happening, I receive emails almost everyday that some man/men are assaulting other young girls on my campus and I think this is an issue that should be stopped and dealt with. But it is up to us young girls to help bring awareness to this issue and prevent it from happening.

By saying the word “no” can help you/all young women in this type of situation and I think it makes you even stronger, braver, and a little more confident. If someone forces you to do something you don’t want to do, you HAVE the RIGHT TO SAY NO.  So please watch this PSA and thank you so much for taking the time to read this post. ‪#‎sayno‬

it’s all about confidence ladies! #BeConfidentInYourselvesEnoughToComeForward

Rape | via Tumblr

If anyone wants to tell their story/experience you can comment below or if you want it to be private, then DM personally on twitter and we can talk about it there! 🙂

my twitter is @BrittanyDobbins

#ItsOnUs

XOXO

Leave a Reply

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

XO Group Inc.

XO Group Inc. guides people through life’s biggest moments — from marriage, to moving in together to having a baby — with brands The Knot, The Nest and The Bump.

look around!

Love what you do! Do it well!

The Black Veil Ones

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

AyR Galaxy

IntoMyUniverse

time 2 photograph

I sell ideas, not photos

Postcards from Kerry

I just want to tell you stories...

the creative life in between

cherishing the moments and exploring my passion for creativity... through art, photography, food, and writing

Notes From a Red Pill Girl

A site for women interested in a red pill perspective (where men are welcome too!)

sunshine and teacups

new blog posts wednesdays + sundays

ULTIMATE SOLACE

All the unsaid feelings..all the hidden emotions..an escape to the other side..read along..you may find your story..Guys,Bon voyage!! :)

Khadhy

Expressing emotions through art....

Emily Clare Beauty

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

